Journal Your Christmas Daily December Album Cover

I hope you all had a wonderful New Year and have recovered from all the festivities and celebrating – if you did! 🙂

You know, I was laughing out loud as I wrote that post title, and yet still could not help myself.  My new years resolution dear reader is to not write it again…. At least not till next Christmas. 🙂

By then I might have worked out what it is I am actually doing. One thing for sure it needs to be even simpler than it was this year. That or give up on some of the other things we do during this already busy month for most people, that also holds so many birthdays  and other celebrations for us.

This first few days of the new year have entailed catching up on my December Daily album and getting the cover finished off after cutting the cover shape some weeks ago.

My aim was to keep this year’s album simple and easy. Which in some ways it was to be – by sticking with one (or 3) digital kits and a fairly simple style of page. One side was to be for the journaling and the other a photo. Not thinking about the total of pages that would mean, especially adding overlays to photo’s and changing the journaling pages to match the photo or daily happenings was a bit of a blunder on my part.

See that pile of pages in the back.  All 104, 5 x 7 sized pages!       104!!!

Yikes..how did I manage that when I only did 25 days? Imagine if I had done all the days of Shimelle’s Journal Your Christmas.

However it is totally finished. All ready to bind. Which brings just one more challenge. I am not sure that Zutter Bind it All Owires will be big enough to hold the album together. The 1 inch is not large enough and they only go up to 1.25 inches. When I get the chance to order some online I will let you know how it goes. For now I have punched it and am using O rings to hold it together.

Now on to the journal cover.

Using papers from the kits in the journal, for continuity, to cover the thick chipboard I had already cut into the bracket shape, was the easy part. Coming up with the rest took a little longer.

Red cardstock from Creative Memories was shaped with a Martha Stewart Punch for the doily edge. Then layered with some red checkered ribbon over a piece of my own design blue paper and all stuck down with doubled sided Scor-Tape.

The tag was created by starting out with a stamped image from Pink Paislee House of 3 Parisian Anthology stamp set onto a white shipping tag. Then a small leftover red scrap of paper from the journal pages was added.  I made the “Christmas” alpha in CS3 with an alpha from Basic Grey’s digital kit “Blitzen” and layered it over little cream squares.  Those were cut out individually and stuck down with the double tape too. The red year 2010 alpha is from Kaiser. A length of butchers twine and some crystal blingage layered over the stamp completed the tag.

The small crystal circle with red checked ribbon through it is actually an old buckle from one of my daughters shoes. I’m know to hang on to pretty things – just because I might want them for something one day. The medallion is made from the same blue paper and is hot glued behind the buckle and the ribbon tucked around behind. Aren’t those little blingy stick pins from Jenni Bowlin just the cutest – and the prefect finishing touch to the medallion? I layered the whole lot on top a small white scrap embossed through the Cuttlebug.

The small metal “believe” plaque from Making Memories was the completing touch to balance the front cover out.

The back cover is done more simply with the layers of paper and checked ribbon. Antique Silver Owires from Bind it All are planned to bind the whole thing together.

So there we have it – my completed 2010 Journal Your Christmas Daily December Album.

Oops – broke my resolution already. 🙄

One thought on “Journal Your Christmas Daily December Album Cover

  1. Pingback: Mojo Monday 172 – Sweet Sixteen

Leave a Reply

