Cafe Life and a Digital Template

With my internet connection down for most of the day I got stuck into 1b of lesson one from Digi in Deep at Jessica Sprague.

The second part of the assignment involved re-using the techniques taught in the lesson  to design and create your own complex shapes. Then make a layout from them. This is totally different to how my layouts have been made in the past and in the end I decided to turn it into a template – because that is how it looked without papers and elements.

Heavily inspired by Jessica’s design it is perfect to go with my layout from yesterday. My first ever digital template. It even looks like a real one.

I may have done it back to front but in the end I saved my layout under another name and deleted all the personal stuff, ending up with a layered template. For sure it would need some tidying up editing before I would want to share it. Happy with it none the less.

Here is the finished layout.

Again I used Sweet Memories turning this assignment into a two pager for my Paris Vacation album.

The photos were taken sitting at a fab little cafe in the 7th arrondissement, just a stones throw from Seine.

Then of course I had to play with the layout a little more. There are so many pretty elements in Nicole and Dani’s kit that I wanted to use even more of them beyond my design.

So here is take 2.

Which of the two do you prefer?

3 thoughts on “Cafe Life and a Digital Template

  1. hmmm… hmmmm… i like them both!!!

    THANK YOU so much for featuring my mini album on DSTInsider May10 issue! THANK YOU!!! Great tutorial!!! I was soo happy to see the familiar photo!

  2. Both LO’s are gorgeous. The second has more personlization with the added elements I think, where the first is more basic and looks straight out of a template.

Leave a Reply

