A Summer Snack

There is nothing nicer than sitting down in the shade as the afternoon cools and enjoying a lovely “healthy” summer snack. We have had an abundance of the yummy but unhealthy kinds like homemade shortbread, choc chip cookies and banana cake lately as the girls have been honing their baking skills – not to mention keeping their Dad happy.

This morning I actually went to the supermarket. Not intentionally though as hubby usually does the shopping, just one of the drawbacks fun things about living in a country where women are not permitted to drive.

Anyhow he had taken me in to town to the craft store to purchase some dye as Miss C wants to try and revive some of her old clothes that still fit.  All in our push to learn to be better stewards with the blessing we have. We needed salt, and lots of it, for the dyeing process and so we stopped at the supermarket on the way home.

Big mistake, Big,  HUGE!

Well, not really, but so much for just popping in to pick up some salt. It has been months since I have grocery shopped and we have been eating out of our pantry aside from the weekly essentials. So when I walked up the store cupboard aisle I knew what we were out of and needed.

Plus they had a whole new range of organic spices and herbs. Place pretty green organic looking bottles with the perfect shape and cute old fashioned brown top in front of me and I’m in trouble. I am sure they call my name! They inspired me though and when I got home I showed the girls how to make dip with some dry ingredients that you would normally have on hand and some sour cream.

I thought I would share it with you.

aalf001

Summer Onion Dip

This takes about 2 mins.

  • 1 Tub sour cream (this one is 200ml)
  • 1 Tab Dried Onion Flakes
  • 1 Tab Organic Dried Parsley
  • 1 Tab Dried Organic Chives
  • 1 Tab Dried Organic Cilantro
  • 1 Tab Powdered Stock Powder (I used beef as that is what I had. Chicken or veg would be fine too.)
  • 2 or 3 drops of Worcestershire Sauce
  • 3 Tabs Homemade Mayonnaise
  • Salt and Pepper to taste.

Mix it all together and put in the fridge for a couple of hours. Then serve with some carrot, celery and cucumber sticks and a delicious cold glass of homemade lemonade.

aalf002

The perfect summer snack!

So what do you follow that lovely healthy snack up with.

Why, the totally unhealthy homemade sausage rolls that you fixed with the other ingredients purchased when you went to buy salt.

That was the Daddy/Daughter purchase though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

