Stamped Cards

Many many years ago, long before the scrap booking craze, and then the digital scrap booking craze, I was into what was called “Cottage Crafts” in Australia.

My favourite of these was stamping and card making. Of course it became passe’ for a while, then digital just seemed easier.

However earlier this year I felt the urge to create my own hand made cards again. I also wanted to justify the huge stack of scrapbook papers that needed using up in my closet.

So I pulled out my old old stamps and inks and got started. By old I mean 15 or more years old.

Yep!  🙂   Might be time for an update to my stamping supplies.

All designs are mine.

aalc17

Munchkin boy#2 commented about how cool this one was – so he got it for his birthday. Now this technically isn’t  a stamped card as the little pirate bits are digital.

When I can find where I purchased the kit I will link you up – if you recognise this and know please leave me a comment.

If you want to add some dimension to your cards you can’t go wrong with printing your own digital elements to match your theme. I have printed, cut them out and layered them up on some corrugated card. Then added some buttons, an “anchor” tag and string to tie it all together.

Here is a grown up one!

aalc18

The flower stamp I used on this card is about 15 years old. Still good!

Can’t say the same thing about the ink pads. I have had them stored upside down in a dark cool place but I guess – just like me, that time has done some damage.

Wrinkly, saggy and a bit dry in places.  😆

Next time I get out of here on vacation to a more craft oriented country I will need to stock up on some inks and markers. Oh and some more stamps of course!

Here is a close up.  Of the card – not me. 🙂

aalc19

You can see the little ribbon flower I made by pulling some wired ribbon along one edge till it all pulled tight. Then added a button which I have tied on with some cotton floss.

3 dimensional mounting tape and a bit of bling to finish it off. Those little crystal thingys – the bling, are not stamping or scrap book supplies. They are from those little clear sheets for decorating your cell phones or your Ipod. It is all I can get here though. The added bonus to using these is they are peel and stick. So no mucking around with glue!

Here is another variation on the pirate card.

aalc20

And lastly a masculine one. Fairly simple, I have stitched around the paper with some Karen Foster Scrappers Floss and inked around the edge of the raised “Happy Birthday”.

Fortunately my embossing powder and heat gun still work.

So if you were just giving advice to someone just starting out stamping – what you recommend they purchase as a medium basic kit to get started? I am sure there is a lot more product out there than last time I looked.

Leave me a comment and link me up to your favourite stamping products. I need to get a list of “must haves” ready for my next trip home!

Oh, and if you are looking for some more stamping inspiration you just might want to check out this fab giveaway over at the Hybrid Chick – what else but stamps!

Leave a Reply

