Why Do I?

Why do I take photographs and scrapbook?

This question was posed on the blog over at JessicaSprague today and as it was something I have been thinking about a lot lately I thought I would try and define it – without getting too long winded.

Like I can do that. šŸ˜‰

I am so blessed that my family has been one that has taken photo’s for generations. I have many images of great great relatives and down on through the years till now. Many if not all of those relatives past my Dad’s generation (and even some of them) are not living any more and there is no way to identify the “who what where and when” these wonderful images were taken.

Some have names scrawled on them, but whose handwriting is it? So much is lost. As I look back at these photographs of another time and place I can’t help but wonder about the stories behind them.

ancestors-lo

Which brings me to why I do it.

I love to take photographs and capture memories. However that is pointless in 100 years if there is no one around to decipher them. Sure – some of them will be good enough to enjoy for purely asthetic reasons but on the whole each photo I take has a story.

So again – why do I scrapbook?

Essentially it is a way for me to communicate. With my future, about my past and my present and sometimes even about my future.

Hmmm – there is the short version of why. šŸ™‚

It is enough.

One thought on “Why Do I?

Leave a Reply

